Strawberry Streusel Muffins

Strawberries were 88 cents at the grocery store.

88 cents.

That’s like– some of the best news I’ve heard all week.

I bought 5 cartons of them. Naturally, I had to make something to take to work. So I made strawberry streusel muffins!

They are so good. And, of course, I found the recipe by searching Pinterest!

With wheat flour to make them feel a little bit healthier, delicious & tangy strawberries, and a sugary sweet streusel, I could have eaten the whole batch by myself!

But I didn’t, because they had to be shared.

And because it would be a tiny bit gross to eat 17 muffins.

Oh, and I have this cute muffin / cupcake carrier that I found at the grocery store for $3. It makes carrying muffins WAY easier. And it’s my favorite color!

Strawberry Streusel Muffins
(adapted from thegallerygourmet.net)

Ingredients for Muffins:

  • 1.5 cups wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 8 tbsp butter, melted
  • 1 cup low-fat sour cream
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup strawberries, diced (not frozen)
  • 4 Tbsp mixed berry jam (I used the triple berry jam from Costco)
Ingredients for Streusel:
  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2/3 cup wheat flour
  • 1/8 cup brown sugar
  • 4 tbsp butter, cold and cubed

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350˚F.
  2. Line muffin tins with paper liners (recipe will make about 17 muffins).
  3. Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, and baking soda. In a separate bowl, mix butter, sour cream, egg, and vanilla.
  4. Mix wet and dry ingredients together until just combined; it will be a dough-like consistency.
  5. Fold in the strawberries.
  6. Fill in muffin tins (about half to 3/4 full).
  7. Place about 1 tsp of mixed berry jam on top of batter and mix in swirls on top of each muffin.
  8. Make streusel: combine all ingredients until just blended with a crumb-like texture. If you over-mix it, it will still work. I used some margarine for the topping (because I was all out of butter!), which melts faster, so I actually ended up with a dough-like streusel. I just broke it up and sprinkles it on anyway!
  9. Place about 1 tbsp streusel topping on each muffin.
  10. Bake for 30 minutes. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

