Things that make my life easier

If you know me, you know that I love to be organized. Like, a lot. Even though our apartment doesn’t always reflect that 😉 Lately, I’ve found some really awesome things that are seriously making my life soooo much easier!

1. Ziplist

Ziplist is the best. Accounts are free, and it makes meal planning + grocery shopping way easier. There’s a little button that can be added to your browser, so when you come across a recipe you just click that button and voila! it’s added to your recipe box on the site. THEN, you can go on the Ziplist site and add ingredients from recipes to your grocery list.

Screen shot 2013-04-18 at 1.09.01 PM

Aaaand it syncs with a mobile app that’s with you in the grocery store so you can check things off as you put them in your cart. Booya.

photo

2. A daily chore list

AKA, breaking up all of the household chores into individual days. It doesn’t seem like a lot to get done every day, and it’s not all crammed on Saturday, so things actually get completed! Some tasks are only needed once a month, like thoroughly cleaning the oven or coffee maker… So those get rotated on a 4-week basis. Yay for a clean apartment! Who knows if I’ll be able to keep this up when the baby comes, but whatever. It’s worth a shot and will probably work out better than trying to do everything on one day! 🙂

Screen shot 2013-04-18 at 1.16.14 PM

3. Having a filing cabinet

Before Mike & I got married, we read One Year to an Organized Financial Life, and it’s awesome! The author gives really easy and helpful suggestions, like making a filing cabinet. So, whenever we get a bill, information about loans, a paystub, or a receipt for a larger purchase / dentist visit / charitable donation, it all goes into the filing cabinet. Getting paperwork together for taxes is super easy, and we rarely have trouble finding any documents that we need.

So, that’s just me. It might seem like a lot of work to you, or maybe you think I’m crazy (isn’t everyone?), but just organizing things a little bit helps me not have to remember so many details and not stress out about getting things done or knowing where stuff is. They really do make my life easier!

3 thoughts on “Things that make my life easier

  1. Judith M Heimerl says:

    Emily –

    You are amazing! I’m going to miss your posts once little baby Waller arrives. Not even sure if you’re getting my messages but I have so enjoyed each and every one of your posts. I’m getting very excited for you and Mike == baby W is one lucky little guy to have you as parents!

    Take care,

    Judy

Leave a Reply

