Homemade Applesauce

You guys. I have to find lots of stuff to do since the baby has apparently taken up a permanent residence in my body and I’m stranded at home without a car. I’ve been reading, writing, organizing & cleaning like crazy, taking the dog for a million walks, and dancing around the kitchen while cooking to try to get this baby movin’!

So, I decided to make some applesauce. Since we went to the Public Market on Saturday, we got about 25 apples for $4… Waaaay more than we can eat before they’d go bad. Plus, if an apple a day keeps the doctor away, I guess I really don’t want to have anything to do with apples. But oh well. Applesauce is already made.

IMG_9199

I looked up a few recipes online, but some of these people are crazy. For example, “Run cooked apples through a food mill to remove skins and seeds.” Umm what?! You really think I have one of those? Then I remembered that I have the Joy of Cooking sitting on my bookshelf, so I just went for that instead of listening to crazy people.

3 lbs peeled, sliced Empire apples (~6 cups). 1/2 cup water. 2 tbsp lemon juice. 1 – 3″ cinnamon stick. Combine in a saucepan and simmer for 25 minutes until the apples start to fall apart.

IMG_9200

Add 1/2 cup brown sugar and turn the heat up to medium until it thickens.

Then, I chose to mash the apples up a little more. But, you don’t have to, or you could puree them… Whatever you want 🙂 Just don’t forget to take the cinnamon stick out!

IMG_9201

I also chose to add a teaspoon of cinnamon… Because really, applesauce always needs more cinnamon.

IMG_9202

And now I’m happily eating applesauce, daydreaming of one day having a baby. Which hopefully will be in the near future. Like, really near future.

Ingredients

  • 3 lbs Empire apples, about 6 cups chopped
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 – 3″ cinnamon stick
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Instructions

  1. Peel and slice all of the apples, removing core and seeds.
  2. Place apples, lemon juice, cinnamon stick, and water in large pot. Simmer for ~25 minutes, or until apples start to fall apart.
  3. Add 1/2 cup brown sugar and bring heat to medium until mixture thickens.
  4. Mash or puree apples further if desired. Add additional 1 tsp of cinnamon.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Applesauce

  1. Judith M Heimerl says:

    Emily –

    I thought for sure baby W would make an appearance today — but the day is not over yet!! You are making good use of your time though. Love your recipe for the applesauce!

    Judy

  2. AlexBrueckner says:

    Do you guys have a rice cooker? That’s what I use to make applesauce! Easiest thing ever: dice apples into cooker, add cinnamon or brown sugar and lemon juice, pour a few tablespoons of water in, and let the cooker do its thing! And it makes your house smell like heeeeaven.

    Also, i am so jealous of you getting that many apples for four bucks…I can get six. If I’m lucky. Usually just four. 😦

  3. Tamara says:

    You are so creative! It was like reading a pinterest post…in fact I’m pinning it to make you famous! Also read your other article. I was impressed. Go bored you! Hope the baby comes for real today and that he doesnt take too long!

Leave a Reply

