Healthy Lunches!

Mmmm. Lunch. The meal that I am always starving for and don’t want to put any effort toward. We usually go the leftover route, but lately we haven’t had any leftovers, so I am getting creative! I have also been trying to eat healthier: mainly fresh fruits/veggies, whole grains, less processed food, organic, etc. I want to give Caleb the best example I can of a proper diet! Although, icecream is also included in a proper diet, so…

Here are the lunches and snacks that I’ve been loving lately!

Slow Cooker Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal – one night in the crockpot = breakfast or lunch for quite awhile!!

Mashed sweet potatoes with unsweetened coconut and agave. SO good. Like, REALLY good.

Cuban Black Beans

photo

Apple slices (Macoun picked from Whittier Farms!) with Wegmans organic peanut butter. (The Macoun apple flavor + light saltiness of this peanut butter are amazing together).

Spiced Apple Cider Muffins – although I used pumpkin butter instead of apple butter, and only put crushed walnuts on top instead of the streusel.

Greek Yogurt Mac & Cheese – what I’m eating today! Literally the easiest mac and cheese I’ve ever made… Comparable to making the boxed variety. Makes 3 adult servings. I added tomatoes, 1/4 tsp ground mustard, 1/4 tsp paprika, 1 tsp garlic pepper.

Hummus. So much hummus. Spicy Chipotle hummus (which I can’t eat much of), roasted red pepper hummus, and lemon dill hummus. With carrots and celery and pretzel thins and everything else.

And also really tiny little locally grown pears that are so cute. Because they’re tiny.

I feel so much better when I’m eating like this instead of eating tons of meat, processed food, etc. Now if I could only get a workout schedule going… 🙂

Leave a Reply

