Thrift Store Clothing Revamp: Teal Romper

My friend Brooke recently directed me to a blog where a woman basically buys horrendous clothing from Good Will and makes it look extremely chic and adorable. Right up my alley! So, of course, I had to at least make an attempt to create a cute summer dress from a vintagey fabric that really could only be found at a local thrift shop.

Here is the culprit: a teal (my fave!), floral (another fave!), vintagey (also my fave!) romper to remake. Let’s just say I don’t partake in the whole romper trend. Apart from being tall and not normally fitting in modern rompers (without getting a little… cheeky…), I just feel absolutely ridiculous wearing them.

Before_Teal_Dress

Step 1: Remove shorts.

Step 2: Re-do neckline. Deeper? V-neck?

Step 3: Make sleeves shorter.

Step 4: Most definitely take out shoulder pads.

Screen Shot 2014-06-02 at 11.18.49 AM

Screen Shot 2014-06-02 at 11.19.35 AMI feel like the neckline, combined with leaving the “pocket” detailing and buttons, keeps the vintage look, while still having a more flattering / slimmer piece.

IMG_3848

Now here’s the real question… will it withstand the blurry mirror selfie?

IMG_3825

IMG_3828Yes, yes it will. I’d say success on this one! I am really happy with the way it turned out. And may or may not be wearing it today.

3 thoughts on “Thrift Store Clothing Revamp: Teal Romper

  1. Lauren Zietsman says:

    I am so impressed!! I’m bringing you all my clothes…also I wish I could wear rompers, but my long torso makes one-piece anything obscene (tall girl problems…I feel you).

Leave a Reply

