7 Days of Gratitude

Alright, so I was tagged twice in the “7 days of gratitude” dealio on Facebook (hi, Amanda and Sheila!)… But wasn’t totally feeling it. I do the #100daysofhappiness on Instagram, and that has been awesome for feeling grateful! So instead, I decided to do a little post.

I have so much stuff to be grateful for – holy cow. So I guess I will just list the things that have really popped up over the last week…

Friends who can bake.

My community group and the awesome friendships that have come out of that.

All of the amazing friends I made in college whom I can SnapChat ugly faces to and be friends with even from far away.

Caleb. He just lights up my life every day. And I love his laugh.

Michael. Just, everything. All personality traits. His neverending patience and his ability to skillfully do pretty much anything are so, so, so great. His ability to be friends with everyone and love everyone. Everything. He’s the best human of all the humans.

My ridiculous dog who won’t come inside because all of the squirrels are out collecting food for the winter.

My mom, who stands up for herself, gets stuff done, and never ceases to be an outstanding role model… all while putting others first.

My dad, who constantly shows me what integrity means in his hard work and dedication to his job and to our family.

My brother, who is crazy and awesome and can lift heavy things and sing all the bass songs. And who makes pretty darn good decisions for a junior in high school.

For our house and the huge yard we have to run around in.

grateful

Living close to in-laws who love us, and love Caleb and have family parties whenever possible.

A mother-in-law who is willing to go out of her way to help us whenever she can. Despite hip surgery. And a torn retina.

A father-in-law who can literally fix anything – and is totally willing to help us out fixing up our house.

Mike’s little sister Sky, whom Caleb absolutely adores.

The CSA, which gives us enough tomatoes for 271 people for the year.

The network of mamas from MOPS who understand and have been there.

My job, which I have been at for a year! I still absolutely love it.

My co-workers, each of whom is totally unique, amazing, and knowledgable.

Easy access to doctors, who can expedite the whole “getting healthy” process when I’m sick.

You. Because you are amazing and lovely and you mean something in my life and in the lives of many others. (And just the way you are).

Jesus, who seriously has given me such a good perspective on this life and made me realize that everything is something to be grateful for, and that I should be content with where I am at, no matter the situation.

Now that I’m done with my speech, I will accept my award. Thank you.

But seriously, think about how many things in your life are amazing and how many things you have to be grateful for. The end!

One thought on “7 Days of Gratitude

  1. Judith M Heimerl says:

    Wow Emily – this gave me the chills. Beautifully written! I feel pretty grateful for you because you are always inspiring and a great role model. You have so much to give to the world. I’m happy you are in my world. So look forward to your messages.

    Judy

Leave a Reply

