Bake15: Pies

Alright… I am starting a new project. It’s called Bake15: Pies. Bake15: Pies is a project to ‘master’ piemaking. I have my grandma’s recipe for crust and chart on pie fillings, which have honestly never let me down, but I am ready to branch out and see what other pies are waiting to be made!

Why Bake15? I am baking 15 pies. It seemed like a good number – manageable, but not too few where it’s not really a “challenge”. I plan on reusing the “Bake15” again in the future when the pies are made and I am ready to move onto something new!

Do I have a timeframe or end date? Kind of. Less than a year, and hopefully by next summer. This is probably a project for when I’m stuck inside during the Rochester winter.

Will I eat all of the pies? No; I don’t want to weigh 400 lbs. I will try all of them, of course, with Mike. Pies are meant for sharing and bringing to dinner parties and spending time with your neighbors.

Now, I just need pie recipes!!! (And maybe people to bake with?) So… if ya got ’em, send ’em. Sweet. Tart. Fruit. Savory. Meat. Meringue… Send your favorite or a recipe you’ve been waiting to try. In the meantime, I’ll be rummaging through Pinterest and Foodgawker looking for unique recipes. Just remember: no almonds, and no bananas – I can’t eat either!

Oh, and also, I mayyyy have already made Pie #1. And consumed piece #1 right before writing this post. But details on that will come later. For now, leave your thoughts and your pie recipes in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Bake15: Pies

    • Emily @ OffTheWaller says:

      Oh awesome! That would be a good comparison, actually. I normally make peach blueberry pie with my Grandma’s recipe. Looking at it, Joy uses apple cider vinegar in her pie crust, too – pie #1 I made from Bon Appetit did that as well. I’ve never seen that before! Thanks for this 🙂

  1. Judith M Heimerl says:

    Emily –

    You are just so darn amazing!! I’m embarrassed to say that I don’t bake pies – I buy Marie Callendar and eat those — we do like them. I’ve never had luck with the baking part of the pies. If you use the same recipe as your mom, I know they are amazing. Your mom makes the best pies and I think you just might be a chip off the old block!

    Judy

Leave a Reply

