Bake15: Pear Pie with Red Wine and Rosemary (Pie #1)

Pie #1 is baked! I found this Pear Pie with Red Wine and Rosemary on BonAppetit, and chose it because:

(1) The flavor was really interesting

(2) The method of pie-crust-making was very different than my normal (grandma’s) method

(3) I have never made a pie where the sauce is made first, and then tossed with the fruit to create the filling

(4) This pie uses the super-intimidating-to-me lattice structure on top that I have never tried before!

So first… This crust!

“Pulse granulated sugar, salt, and 3 cups flour in a food processor to combine. Add butter and shortening and pulse until mixture resembles coarse meal with a few pea-size pieces of butter remaining.”

I have never made a crust where a food processor was used to blend the dry ingredients with the butter/shortening. But it was awesome! It worked so well. Obviously. Because a food processor is a lot better at blending things by itself than I am with a fork.

Secondly, the egg mixture, which was added after the food processor step, contained apple cider vinegar. Yeah, apple cider vinegar in pie crust.

Screen Shot 2014-09-28 at 10.57.44 PM

It just gets mixed right in there. And apparently it makes the pie crust amazing.

The end result is eventually two disks of dough that need to be refrigerated for at least an hour. Here’s where the filling gets started!

Thanks, CSA, for the huge bunch of pears and for making this pie possible.

After slicing for a million years, the pears can finally be sliced and put aside in a bowl. Then you just have to hope that they are patient enough to wait for everything else to be done.

Because now it’s time to make the sauce. It’s thick. And it smells really good.

While making this sauce with sugar, cornstarch, flour, cinnamon, and wine, one may realize, “Hey – I just opened a bottle of really good wine. I should probably have a glass of that.”

IMG_4966

Which is exactly what I did. So there ya go – wine time. The best part of cooking a pie with wine? You get to drink the wine.

So fast forward 30 minutes to when the sauce is chilled – it gets blended in with the pears to create a kind of odd-looking filling… Probably just because it’s purple.

At this point, your pie dough should have also been chilled for an hour or more. As my lovely mother taught me, you should always roll out your pie dough on wax paper so that you can easily transfer the pie dough to the dish and peel of the wax paper. It’s flawless.

Now everything is finally coming together!! The filling is in, and it is put on a baking sheet for cooking in the oven later. And now is where you might start praying a little prayer that you can make a nice lattice structure on the pie.

Okay, but seriously, making a lattice wasn’t that hard at all. I’m not sure why I thought it was so intimidating! I guess just because it looks pretty fancy.

Then comes the part where the beautiful aromas come out of the oven for an hour and a half and your stomach starts saying, “Hey, I want some pie.”

IMG_0682

Look at that beauty! Okay, so it bubbled through the lattice a little bit, but that’s fine. Whatever. I’m no Bon Appetit baker and photographer; I’m just a girl makin’ some pies.

The worst part about this pie was that we had to wait FOUR HOURS for it to cool until we could eat it. I’m trying really hard to actually follow the instructions, since Mike always yells at me for not doing everything as exactly listed by the recipe. I mean, what’s the fun in that? 😉

The pie review:

Crust: I really liked this crust. It was a totally new way of making pie crust, but I loved the food processor step. The dough was really easy to work with, especially after being chilled for an hour.

Filling: The method of making the sauce and blending with the pears was new to me. But, it worked well to avoid having a runny pie filling. I think that it gave a really great wine flavor to the pie since the wine was boiled and blended with sugar and spices (and everything nice). Have you ever had wine jelly, or any other non-liquid wine products from a winery? The flavor was similar to those items.

Overall: This is a really unique pie, and great for the Fall. I could see this as a perfect Thanksgiving pie with a glass of wine after dinner. The lattice ensures that it’s not too heavy, and you can actually eat a normal-sized piece without feeling like a total glutton.

The pie ratings:

The pie rating scale is a Mike-determined scale from 1 – 10, with a 5 being the “classic, homemade apple pie”, and 10 being the highest rating.

Emily: 7

Mike: 6.5

Not too shabby for pie numero uno!

3 thoughts on “Bake15: Pear Pie with Red Wine and Rosemary (Pie #1)

  1. Judith M Heimerl says:

    Very good Emily – it looks delicious!! I like the idea of opening the wine and drinking it while making the pie – that would be my contribution — well maybe one of two contributions – first, drinking the wine and second, tasting a piece of the end product and rating it!!

    I just want to know where you find t he time to do all this. You never cease to amaze me!

    Judy

Leave a Reply

