Julep Monthly Subscription Box Review

True or False: Julep is just another mediocre monthly subscription box.

Let’s read more to find out 😉

I ordered the Boho Glam Monthly Maven Julep box. The first box is free with code “freebox”, and shipping is also free! For three months, this comes out to $14.50/month. Totally manageable.

Screen Shot 2014-08-04 at 9.42.41 AM

As always, these subscription boxes automatically renew, so the key is looking up the cancellation policy before signing up.

Screen Shot 2014-08-04 at 9.45.41 AM

This one is very clear, so we are good to go! I create an event on my calendar with the cancellation information to make sure that I can cancel in time incase I don’t like the box or don’t want to continue the subscription.

From their website: “Each month, you’ll be able to customize your box with over $40 worth of color & beauty from a brand-new collection (or wait for a surprise). Plus, get 20% off and free shipping on julep.com after you join.”

The Boho Glam boxes come with two polish colors, based on your style profile, and one other non-polish product:

Screen Shot 2014-09-04 at 10.30.25 PM

You can also edit your box during a certain window of time (the 20th-24th of the month) before it ships. They send an email notification to let you know it’s editing time. You log on and click “Edit My Box” under My Account.

Screen Shot 2014-09-20 at 9.47.07 AM

 

So here were my initial selections for my October box. Two polishes and a lip gloss:

Screen Shot 2014-09-20 at 9.47.13 AM

So I just clicked “swap out”, and it gives you a list of items shipping with other October boxes for various style profiles, and you can choose which ones you want! You can also choose add-ons if you want some more goods.

Screen Shot 2014-09-20 at 9.47.21 AM

So, here is my updated box! Perfect!!!

Screen Shot 2014-09-20 at 10.06.26 AM

Let me just say that I really, really, really enjoy this box. The styles are 100% on-point for me, and the products are high quality. I am definitely satisfied and will be continuing my subscription.

Box 1 (August):

Gemma: Super cool, nude color for the end of summer (and basically anytime I need a color detox).

julep_gemma

Harriet: A little more flashy, but still “normal” colored polish. Perfect August color.

Mighty Nail & Cuticle Serum: Okay, seriously… I got this and was a little disappointed at first, with thoughts like “Why the heck would I need this?” and “It’s probably not going to work.” BUT it’s awesome, and my cuticles look great. Which sounds like a really weird thing to say, but seriously, they look healthy and great and I’m totally on my way to becoming a hand model.

Coupon: 50% off next online order.

Box 2 (September):

Look, I took a picture of the contents before I ripped the box apart this time!

photo

Erin: This polish is different from the first box. It emphasized oxygenating the nails (woohoo), and only took one simple coat to get a dark, lasting color. These colors were from the new Art Walk Collection.

julep_erin

Mary Lee: Look ma, camouflage with my rocking chair! A burgundy shade perfect for the toes in September. Or for blending in to your rocking chair.

photo

Plush Pout Lip Crayon (Almond Nude): Oh my gosh! I like something with almond in the title! No, there are not real almonds in this lip crayon, so I am all for it! Luckily, this came right before date night, and the color is perfect. Let me tell ya, I am not really good at figuring out what lip color is right for me, but this one was great. Thanks, Julep people. I am also a fan of the packaging for this lip crayon, and also the texture. Great, great, and great.

Small candies: Super cute and delicious pineapple & coconut candies as a bonus.

Coupon: Free polish with $15+ order.

Box 3: October

Note: This is the box that I customized above.

FullSizeRender

Cleopatra: It’s October. I can totally get black nailpolish.

Eliana: I LOVE this unique shade! It’s between blue and turquoise and is perfect for Fall.

Night Shift Sleeping Mask: I haven’t used this yet, but I’m excited! It looks interesting and had me at “reparative moisture mask” and a 4.5-star rating.

Coupon: 30% off coupon that can be used twice!

Little bag of candycorns (that Mike totally broke into before I could take the picture).

You can join here and choose your style profile for a box that fits your needs more if you are not a Boho Glam kinda girl 😉 Plus, if you refer friends, there are rewards! Woohoo. (Shameless plug for you to click that link). The codes “FREEFALL” or “FREEBOX” will work to get your first box free! And seriously, I think you’ll be totally happy with the products.

Leave a Reply

