Bake15: Pumpkin Pie From Scratch (Pie #5) and From Libby Can Recipe (Pie #6)

Yeah, I made two pumpkin pies. We had a pumpkin from our CSA, which Caleb nicely handed to me (“make a pie, mom!”).

IMG_5852

The other pie was a result of Mike needing a snack for his PhD candidacy exam. Pies are always great snacks.

But seriously, check this out. I made a pumpkin pie from an actual pumpkin! Remove top, remove seeds.

Turns out, when you make a pumpkin pie really from scratch, you make pumpkin puree first. So the pumpkin is roasted, then pureed until it is extremely smooth.

I used this recipe from the Food Network, and absolutely loved it! I knew I couldn’t go wrong with sweetened condensed milk and molasses.

For the really-from-scratch pie, I went with a typical butter and flour crust.

New methodology: pressing the crust down with a fork, which ends up looking pretty cool. Oh, and then you are supposed to set the pie crust by baking it covered in foil with pie weights or beans to hold the crust in place.

I didn’t have pie weights… or really a lot of beans… but whatever, you do what you can.


For pie #2, I followed the recipe on the Libby Pumpkin Puree can. No sweetened condensed milk or molasses here. I did, though, try the “best pie crust recipe ever” that my co-worker Jeanna sent to me. Instead of using just butter in the crust, I used half butter and half shortening.

Then we had two pumpkin pies and it was the best day ever. Which pie is which?

Yep, the darker one is the really-from-scratch pie.

The pie ratings:

The pie rating scale is a Mike-determined scale from 1 – 10, with a 5 being the “classic, homemade apple pie”, and 10 being the highest rating.

Libby Recipe Straight from the Pumpkin Recipe
Mike 9 9.5
Emily 8.5 9.5

I did totally love the hybrid butter/shortening crust better, which I think made for closer rankings than I expected. It’s fun to make a pie from an actual pumpkin from a local farm and pretty cool to get rid of one dish that is normally from a can on Thanksgiving. Even though it’s more work, I think it’s worth it 🙂

Bonus: I couldn’t fit all of the filling into the pie pan for the from-scratch pie, so we also got four MINI pumpkin pies. Now that really makes it worth the work.

2 thoughts on “Bake15: Pumpkin Pie From Scratch (Pie #5) and From Libby Can Recipe (Pie #6)

  1. wallgev@aol.com says:

    I love reading your posts……they are always so informative. You are very creative person even in the recipe department. Keep it up, you seldom see gals your age so interested in this sort of stuff…… Happy Thanksgiving to you all, Love Aunt Gevy

  2. Judith M Heimerl says:

    Okay – what was the vote on your pies at your folks’ house? Both look yummy — and of course, you always make everything look and sound easy. You are such a chip off the old block – you have to make your mom proud!

    Judy

Leave a Reply

