Bake15: Blood Orange Meringue Pie (Pie #9)

I got blood oranges recently. DELICIOUS, right? And also beautiful. Probably my favorite fruit to look at – there are natural gradients!

FullSizeRender 2

I figured that it might be cool to do a blood orange meringue pie – like instead of a lemon meringue pie. It sounded good! But did not end up very well.

^ This crust though? Awesome. It has pecans in it. I’d totally use that again.

I think this was the killer. A layer of raspberry jam at the bottom. It made the pie WAY too sweet for my taste.

The filling looks a little… neon… when the blood orange juice is added.

IMG_3512

But lightens up with sweetened condensed milk (which always sounds so good, but was probably also an additive to the mega-sweetness…) All of those little floaties at the top are bits of orange / orange zest.

Last was the meringue – which I had never made before!! It was easy and fun to make. 

IMG_3513

So then the recipe said to put the meringue on the filling without cooking the filling first. This was a pretty big red flag for me, but I figured that I would ACTUALLY FOLLOW THE RECIPE (for once in my life), and I regret it.

IMG_3519

The whole pie baked at once.

And ended up looking like this, which doesn’t look so hot in my opinion.

IMG_3529

But this here picture looks a little bit better!

This is the recipe from food.com.

The pie ratings:

The pie rating scale is a Mike-determined scale from 1 – 10, with a 5 being the “classic, homemade apple pie”, and 10 being the highest rating.

Mike: 4

Emily: 2

This pie was way too sweet, and I wasn’t a huge fan of the consistency. Unfortunately, not a winner.

One thought on “Bake15: Blood Orange Meringue Pie (Pie #9)

Leave a Reply

