Bake15: Skillet Blueberry Apple Pie (Pie #11)

I am SO BEHIND on pie posts. Like, three pies behind… Including some from around Pi Day, which was over a month ago. Oops. Better late than never, right?

So I’ll be honest: I made this skillet pie so long ago that I can’t find the recipe I used, and apparently I didn’t pin it on Pinterest. But, it wasn’t the best recipe, so not a huge deal.

I absolutely LOVE the concept of skillet pie. Probably because I am slightly obsessed with my cast iron skillet. If you don’t have one, you need one. Put it on your birthday list ASAP.

The great part about this pie is that it requires one dish: your skillet. You cook the blueberries and apples in a bit of butter, add your spices (in this case, aka why the recipe was horrible, was a TABLESPOON of nutmeg. I thought I’d follow the recipe against my better judgement. Never again).

IMG_5105IMG_5107

 

 

 

 

 

 

So then you end up with this bright purple filling.

IMG_5108

And you literally just lay your pie crust right on top. So. Stinkin. Easy. (Even a caveman could do it!)

IMG_5112
Brush with a beaten egg and place cinnamon sugar on top, and it’s all ready for the oven!

IMG_5115

And then you end up with a super easy-to-make pie. Seriously, the crust was AMAZING on this one. It cooked went on perfectly, cooked perfectly, etc. Unfortunately, that darn nutmeg made this pie not our favorite.

IMG_5118

I do believe that there will be another skillet pie recipe coming, because I love the concept and want to try it again. We’ll see when we get there 😉 And I have to catch up on all of the other pies first…!

The pie ratings:

The pie rating scale is a Mike-determined scale from 1 – 10, with a 5 being the “classic, homemade apple pie”, and 10 being the highest rating.

Emily: 3.5

Mike: 2 (He REALLY didn’t like the nutmeg)

2 thoughts on “Bake15: Skillet Blueberry Apple Pie (Pie #11)

Leave a Reply

