Bake15: Cherry Pie (Pie #12)

So remember how I said I had a few pies from Pi Day that I hadn’t posted yet? Well, here’s one… Just a little late. It’s a cherry pie. And gosh was it good!

I’ll be honest: I had never had cherry pie before. Seems weird, right? My family just normally made blueberry ones since my Grandparents have 200 blueberry bushes. Mike loves cherry recipes, though… So I figured a cherry pie had to go on my list. There’s a first time to taste everything!

IMG_5182

I used a Joy the Baker recipe for the most part, but also added a little flare of my own 😉 AKA a jar of brandied cherries instead of all fresh (or, I guess in my case, frozen) cherries.
IMG_5184

And then we had to add in a little Pi Day to the top crust. You know – just to make sure we made it clear that this post is over two months late and I couldn’t hide it.

IMG_5185

It bubbled over a little – I must not have pressed the crust together well enough there… but that’s what this super mega awesome drip pan is for!

And – voilá! Delicious pie #12.

IMG_5191
Joy’s recipe formed the base – but I left out the almond extract (so I wouldn’t die), and substituted a cup of fresh cherries for a small jar of homemade brandied cherries. I liked the flavor a lot – the brandy wasn’t overwhelming.

This pie was gone before the clock struck midnight. I think that means it’s a win!

The pie ratings:

The pie rating scale is a Mike-determined scale from 1 – 10, with a 5 being the “classic, homemade apple pie”, and 10 being the highest rating.

Emily: 10

Mike: 9.5

2 thoughts on “Bake15: Cherry Pie (Pie #12)

  1. Judith M Heimerl says:

    OMG I’m salivating!!! That just looks awesome!! I remember your mom’s fantastic pies – they were to die for – you are definitely a chip off the old block!!

    Judy

Leave a Reply

